Peace and Freedom: Hong Kong Protest

image

At the current stage, the Hong Kong protest, Occupy Central is still ongoing. Fewer yet some roads in certain areas remain closed for the continued Occupy Central Movement.

I passed one of the occupied streets a few days ago after the dining out, and my friends and I took time reading the signage, posters, newsapers, and boards which are filled with the different voices, yet same goal – they want the legalized common voting rights for the Hong Kong people.

I recall my conversation with a friend sometime ago who praised the current protest as conducted in peace in general, and that left me great impression as I never thought such disharmony of the society was already a demonstration of gratitude. “With such large scale of the protest and its length, it is almost a miracle that no much of the extreme physical actions or killings have occurred.”

I wonder if such protest is peaceful, since its act stems on breaking social harmony and affecting others’ lives to support its goal of disobeying the government. I still struggle to find balance between my own judgment of peace and the freedom of voicing out own will.

Then earlier today I read the bible and I found these verses resonate with my current feelings –

“Do not repay anyone evil for evil…as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone. Do not take revenge…If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.
In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head. Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”

Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

I am still on the journey of finding the meaning of peace and understanding. And I share this piece of thought with you today.

#inspirational #sharing #protest #hongkong #occupycentral #occupy #central

Leave a Reply

