Memoir Of Titanic

*Memoir of Titanic*

As I was listening to my collection of music a few days ago, the melodies of the titanic theme song triggered my following repetitive playing of the music for days.
Along the melody, the image of the gigantic liner emerged in front of me, with the fictional characters “Rose and Jack” standing at the front head.
I remember the last time as I listened to the theme song, I wikipedia-ed, but not completely, went through the whole list of passengers. This time, I decided to click into every passenger’s story. I wanted to know what happened to them. Survived or perished, their happenings do matter.
Via the searching, I got to revive my past memories on learning the devoted music band, many who were in the early 20s, which persisted in playing the smoothing music until their very last moment.
I also felt deeply for the men who gave their ways to the woman and children on getting on board of the lifeboats, as they followed the unsaid “Women and Children First” sea policy. I salute to them for their giving away not just because they are “men”, but also as human beings they were willing to put others first instead of selves, and sacrificed their chances of surviving.
And then I learnt so much “new” I overlooked in the last time. For instance, a wife’s refusal to board the lifeboat as she insisted on staying with her husband. “We have lived together for many years. Where you go, I go.” It was her loyalty to love, and the braveness of overcoming the fear of death which touch many’s hearts.
Or a writer who survived the crash, yet still lost to the “aftermath of physical illness” after a year. What was left was his beautiful and one of the most honest/first account of sharings, “The Truth about the Titanic”, a result of his courage in the consistent facing and writing out the painful and darkest memories in the sea.
There was also a young American man who lost his father in the Titanic crash, and nearly got both of his legs amputated. Yet he fought physically, and the more psychologically, until he could not just walk again, but also fulfill his dream of being the top tennis player, and won many games in the years to come. His braveness in body and mind is certainly inspiring.
I also had the most unforgettable readings on the happenings of the crew.
I was near shocked as finding out the whole team of the engineers, and electricians who decided to stay and fight until the last minute, within the locked engine and boiler rooms, to provide the last minute of power and light to the whole liner. Their deep responsibilities and heroism did not just steal thin slice of death via giving people a total extra hour to escape, but also the prolonged light and power supply became the solid evidence of their accompanying with the passengers who foresaw their tragic fates.
Also the less known crew members were the 8 postal clerks insisted on saving their job tasks – the 200 registered mail sacks before considering their own lives; the guarantee group which stayed with the ship until the last minute. Their devotion to work deeply moved me.
I also wondered about the near whole restaurant crew which was suggested to be locked up in their quarters during the whole event, as they were forced to wait until their death. The feelings of despair, anger and isolation overwhelm me.
So much happened to these 3,327 people. Their stories, inspirations and power are all for us to take in.
I am now writing this all down, remembering these real passengers and crew. Their happenings moved me, saddened me, yet also empowered me.
Each one of the lives deserves to be attended to.

       

Leave a Reply

